Sinead O’Connor and Republic Of Loose announce duet at Meteor Ireland Music Awards

Sinead O’Connor, one of the most iconic and influential Irish artists of modern times will come together to perform a duet with Republic of Loose who have been previously described by their contemporaries as “the future of rock’n’roll and the saviours of all mankind”, this highly anticipated exclusive duet performance is one not to be missed!

The idea for a collaboration of two such leading talents came about recently when Sinead O’Connor and Republic of Loose frontman Mick Pyro were both involved, along with other Irish and International artists, in a tribute to Ronnie Drew recorded in Windmill Lane Studios.

Sinead O’Connor’s music career spans over the last twenty five years, her most recent achievement came about with the release of “Theology” in 2007.’This album is a collection of beautiful songs which deal in universal themes from Sinead’s personal point of view – love, spirituality, reconciliation, and knowledge mixed with her unique observations on life. The album features nine new Sinead O’Connor compositions, and two inspired covers – Curtis Mayfield’s brooding ‘We People Who Are Darker Than Blue’, Andrew Lloyd Webber & Tim Rice’s ‘I Don’t Know How To Love Him’ (from ‘Jesus Christ Superstar’); plus an adaptation of the traditional spiritual ‘Rivers Of Babylon’. Sinead O’Connor is nominated for Best Irish Female at MIMA 2008.

Critically acclaimed Republic of Loose, previous winners of The Meteor Ireland Music Award Hope for 2004 are a welcome addition to this years performing line-up.They have so far released two albums – 2004’s ‘This is the Tomb of the Juice’ and 2006’s “Aaagh”. “Aaagh” was released in Ireland in 2006 and went on to sell in excess of 30,000 copies, it was released in the UK in 2007. Republic of Loose are currently recording their third album which is scheduled for a spring 2008 release which is being produced by Republic of Loose and Gareth Mannix. The first single to be lifted from the album will be ‘Go Steady With It’, due for a March 2008 release. A full Irish tour will follow in summer ‘08.

Joining Sinead O’Connor and Republic as performers on the night are previously confirmed Pop Royalty Westlife, X Factor winner Shayne Ward, Irish Supergroup The Saw Doctors, New Irish Talent from The Coronas and Cathy Davey along with British singer/songwriter Tom Baxter. Further details of Performing Artists will be announced in the coming days.

Meteor Ireland Music Awards will be hosted by Irish comedian Dara O’Briain who will be making his return as MIMA host! Nineteen Meteor awards are to be presented on the night of the Awards with fans having the deciding vote in the following 8 categories:
– Best National D.J.
– Best Regional D.J.
– Best Irish Band
– Best Irish Male
– Best Irish Female
– Best Irish Pop Act
– Best Irish Album
– Best Irish Live Performance
Fans can vote by texting VOTE to 085 7114444 to receive a list of keywords and categories. Meteor customers signed up for FREE TEXT FOR LIFE can text for FREE, and other Meteor customers can avail of Meteor’s low text rates of 9 cent. Fans can also vote online by visiting

The Hope for 2008 Award will be voted for by 2FM listeners while the remaining awards apart from the Most Downloaded Song will be decided by votes cast by representatives of the Irish music industry.

Tickets for the Meteor Ireland Music Awards are on sale now, available from Ticketmaster and usual outlets nationwide. Tickets cost €40 each including booking fee. Tickets are limited to four per person. This is strictly an over 16 year’s event, 16 – 18 year olds must be accompanied by a parent or guardian.