Electronic music czars Röyksopp – Torbjørn Brundtland and Svein Berge – stream ‘The Inevitable End’ , their fascinating (most personal) fifth and final album released on 10th November 2014, on their own Dog Triumph via Wall Of Sound and Cooking Vinyl.

‘The Inevitable End’ features Jamie McDermott (The Irrepressibles), Ryan James (Man Without A Country), Norwegian singer, songwriter Susanne Sundfør and Robyn and comes after the stunning mini album and sell out tour with fellow Scandinavian legend Robyn ‘Do It Again’.

With ‘The Inevitable End’ we’ve moved into a darker subject matter, with emphasis on the lyrical content. This candid approach feels very both personal, sincere and conclusive.” says Svein, “With this album it became clear we wanted to make an album in a classical sense even if it’s the last one we make,” adds Torbjørn.royHaving now created five complete bodies of work, the pair feel like the future is open to being more experimental journey…“We feel like this is a goodbye to the traditional album format,” explains Svein. “In our consecutive run of albums, we have been able to say what we want to say and do what we want to do with the LP. We’re not going to stop making music, but the album format as such, this is the last thing from us.”

“We’re always looking to push certain boundaries, but there’s something there that’s been there all the time and that binds it altogether,” explains Torbjørn. “We’re not keen on repeating ourselves.”


Photo by Stian Andersen