R.E.M. in Dublin on CD

REM1“R.E.M. Live at the Olympia” is a two-CD set featuring 39 songs from their acclaimed 2007 working rehearsals in Dublin, Ireland.

R.E.M. set up camp at the venerable Olympia Theatre in Ireland’s capital city and tested new material over five nights before passionate, capacity crowds.

This live album was produced by Dublin native Jacknife Lee who, along with R.E.M., co-produced Accelerate, the album which emerged from these shows. “R.E.M. Live At The Olympia” gives fans an opportunity to hear those songs at their earliest stages of development. In addition to the new material, the band also served up twenty-nine other songs, spanning their entire career, all of which can be found on this album.
REM2‘We were just trying to something we hadn’t done before’ said guitarist Peter Buck ‘which meant there was no relaxing during the set. Every second we were playing something we didn’t know all that well. Which was kind of good . . . there was all kinds of terror elements going on during those shows’

The album will be released across various formats – 2CD / 2CD&DVD & 4 LP Set and will also be available for download.

The special edition 2 CD & DVD set will contain a film of the Dublin shows by Vincent Moon and Jeremiah, who previously worked with R.E.M. on Ninetynights, Six Days and the Supernatural Superserious Video. The film ‘R.E.M. This Is Not A Show.’ will be screened as part of the Darklight Festival this Friday 9th October at the Lighthouse cinema.

R.E.M Live At The Olympia In Dublin
Released Friday October 23rd ’09

Tracklisting is:
01 Living Well Is the Best Revenge
02 Second Guessing
03 Letter Never Sent
04 Staring Down the Barrel of the Middle Distance
05 Disturbance at the Heron House
06 Mr. Richards
07 Houston
08 New Test Leper
09 Cuyahoga
10 Electrolite
11 Man-Sized Wreath
12 So. Central Rain
13 On the Fly
14 Maps and Legends
15 Sitting Still
16 Driver 8
17 Horse to Water
18 I’m Gonna DJ
19 Circus Envy
20 These Days
21 Drive
22 Feeling Gravity’s Pull
23 Until the Day Is Done
24 Accelerate
25 Auctioneer
26 Little America
27 1,000,000
28 Disguised
29 The Worst Joke Ever
30 Welcome to the Occupation
31 Carnival of Sorts
32 Harbor coat
33 Wolves, Lower
34 I’ve Been High
35 Kohoutek
36 West of the Fields
37 Pretty Persuasion
38 Romance
39 Gardening at Night

A special website was created to celebrate the shows and is being updated with audio from the shows: www.remdublin.com