Olympic hero Paddy Barnes nominated for 2008 Big Buzz Awards

OLYMPIC hero Paddy Barnes was announced yesterday as one of the nominees in this year’s Big Buzz easyJet Irish Entertainment Awards. Paddy, who won a bronze medal in the recent Olympics, is up against sporting greats including David Healy and Darren Clarke.
He said: “I can’t believe I’m nominated against people like David and Darren, that’s amazing.  It still hasn’t really sunk in about the Olympics yet and now to be nominated for an award is brilliant”.

The 9th Annual Big Buzz easyJet Irish Entertainment Awards take place at the Park Plaza Hotel on September 19, 2008 and will be hosted by Miss UK Gemma Garrett and Citybeat presenter Robin Elliott.

The Big Buzz easyJet Awards are unique because they are the only awards that are voted for entirely by the general public and last year received over 200,000 votes.

Paddy added: “I’m really looking forward to relaxing at the party. I’ve been working hard recently and I’ll be able to celebrate going back to college on Monday.

“I’m under no illusion about my career, boxing can’t last forever which is why I’m going back to study.

“Even if I don’t win it’s still great to be nominated”.

Vote online at bigbuzzawards.com

Tesco Award for the Favourite Fine Dining Restaurant      
Villa Italia
Park Plaza Hotel
James St. South

Tesco Award for the Favourite Casual Eatery    
Tony Romas
Café Society
Kitchen Bar

Bacardi Breezer Award for the Favourite Bar 
Duke of York
The Potthouse
Crown Liquor Saloon
Café Vaudeville

Crumlin News Award for the Favourite Gay Theme 
Titti Von Tramp @ Mynt
Glitzy @ Pepes
Fresh Fruit @ The Potthouse
Revolution @ Kemlin
Lipstick @ The Kremlin

Bacardi Breezer Award for the Favourite Nightclub/Lounge

The Beach Club
The Box
Café Vaudeville

Coca-Cola Award for the Favourite Festival / Event of the Year   
Open House Festival
City of Derry Jazz and Big Band Festival
Country Fest

Coca-Cola Award for the Favourite Club DJ
Conor McGavick
Mark Wesley
Mike McKee
Mickey Modelle
Pete Snodden

easyJet Award for Favourite Television Personality

Christine Bleakley
Eamon Holmes
James Nesbitt
Patrick Kielty
Stephen Nolan

The Spice Award for the Favourite Male Performer / Presenter    

Brian Kennedy
Stephen Nolan
Patrick Kielty
James Nesbitt
Peter Corry

The easyJet Award for the Favourite Female Performer / Presenter

Zoe Salmon
Christine Bleakley
Luan Parle
Laura Critchley
Cara Dillon

The easyJet Award for the Favourite Radio Personality
Stephen Nolan
Work Experience boy at Citybeat
Malachi Cush
Gerry Anderson
Ralph McClean

Michael Flanigan Solicitors Award for the Favourite Sports Personality  
Paddy Barnes
Darren Clarke
Peter Stringer
Alex Higgins
David Healy

The Crumlin News Award for the Favourite Live Performance
Cara Dillon
Laura Critchley
Luan Parle
Paddy Casey
Kieran Goss

Every year Big Buzz give special awards to those who deserve credit for their input and dedication to the Irish Entertainment scene, and this year is no different.
The Special Award categories are listed below:
The Big Buzz / easyJet Award for the Favourite Entertainment Journalist
The Big Buzz Friendship Award for the Favourite Celebrity Guest
The Big Buzz Award for Lifetime Achievement