Oasis are back with more hypnotic and driving sound

Oasis have revealed the tracklisting to their seventh studio album ‘Dig Out Your Soul’, set for release on 6th October on their own Big Brother label worldwide as previously announced.
‘Dig Out Your Soul’ sees Dave Sardy return to the producer’s chair following his work on their 2005 album, ‘Don’t Believe The Truth’.

Recorded at Abbey Road and mixed in Los Angeles, all four members once again contribute tracks, but the recording marks a new approach for the band as described by the band’s principal songwriter, Noel:
“I wanted to write music that had a groove; not songs that followed that traditional pattern of verse, chorus and middle eight. I wanted a sound that was more hypnotic; more driving. Songs that would draw you in, in a different way. Songs that you would maybe have to connect to – to feel.”

The lead single is still unmistakably Oasis, a Noel penned song with Liam’s immediately familiar voice to the fore underlining their distinctive brand of finger in the socket rock ’n’ roll. ‘The Shock Of The Lightning’ may well represent the most recognisable Oasis song on the album but, again, the new approach on ‘Dig Out Your Soul’ was present on this lead track as Noel explains:

“If ‘The Shock Of The Lightning’ sounds instant and compelling to you, it’s because it was written dead fast. And recorded dead fast. ‘The Shock Of The Lightning’ basically is the demo. And it has retained its energy. And there’s a lot to be said for that, I think. The first time you record something is always the best.”

‘Dig Out Your Soul’ tracklisting:

Bag It Up / The Turning / Waiting For The Rapture / The Shock Of The Lightning
I’m Outta Time / (Get Off Your) High Horse Lady / Falling Down
To Be Where There’s Life / Ain’t Got Nothin’ / The Nature of Reality / Soldier On

In addition the band have revealed on their website oasisinet.com the album sleeve for ‘Dig Out Your Soul’, an original piece of artwork by London-based designer, Julian House, inspired by the music.

Photo by © David Bailey
The Shock Of The Lightning’ new single out September 29th
‘Dig Out Your Soul’ new album out October 6th