Hotly tipped singer/songwriter, animator and musician Danimal Kingdom has revealed details of his debut single Vinyl Skipping Ever Backwards / Through The Ice set for release on 7″ and download on November 29th through independent label Hot Pockets.
The solo project of former Bolt Action Five frontman Daniel Murtha, Danimal Kingdom’s songs join the dots between 80’s influenced new wave pop and today’s best electronic music, and have already earned him comparisons to the likes of Squeeze and Devo.

Following Bolt Action Five’s split in 2008, Dan has kept busy providing vocals on Kissy Sell Out’s critically acclaimed debut album Youth and The Aston Shuffle’s club hit Do You Want More, but now with a head full of new songs and a hand picked band to back him up Dan is ready to once again take centre stage.
In advance of the single’s release a new Danimal Kingdom track, Amputee Spirit, is being made available to download for free from today.

Said John Power, Hot Pockets, “Dan played at one of our NEW! Parties earlier in the summer as we had been hoping to get a track off him for a compilation, but after being blown away by his show, I knew I wanted more.

Although just his debut solo release, Dan’s songs are already fully formed perfect pop and it’s been quite an effort to narrow it down to just two for this first single. I’ve already laid a bet on Dan being one of the breakthrough stars of 2011 and I can’t wait to bring his music to a wider audience.”
Amputee Spirit (demo) by Danimal Kingdom

Danimal Kingdom – Vinyl Skipping Ever Backwards / Through The Ice (Hot Pockets).
Format: Limited edition (500) 7” and digital download.
Release date: 29/11/10
Forthcoming Danimal Kingdom live shows:
October 7th: YOYO, Notting Hill Arts Club, London
November 6th: Queen of Hoxton, London