blackonassis1Black Onassis’, the new project from former Kasabian member Chris Karloff, debut album ‘Desensitized’, comes out September 23rd on Minus Man Records and features members of M83, The Cooper Temple Clause and The Duke Spirit.

To celebrate the good news, the band share, as a free download, the strong track ‘Brain’ featuring Ben Gautrey of The Cooper Temple Clause.

A founding member, lead guitarist and one of the chief songwriters for Kasabian throughout their swift ascent to global fame, Karloff admits it was a kick in the teeth to leave the band back in 2006.

After his departure from Kasabian, Chris left his native home of Leicester, England to move to New York City, where he joined forces with NYC musician Nick Forde

Talking about mixing psychedelic guitar rock with propulsive and throbbing electronic beats, Karloff says: “Electronic music to me is surprisingly soulful, there is a warmth that comes from the simplicity of sounds, something inconspicuously expressive and emotional”

“Growing up it was everywhere. Artists like Vangelis, Kraftwerk, The Prodigy and Tangerine Dream were massive influences on the songs I wrote with Kasabian, and even more so now. But rock music has always played a massive role as well, and I’m inspired by artists like Jimi Hendrix, Primal Scream and Nirvana. I try to fuse these two worlds to create the kind of music I want to listen to”.

On the decision to work with guest vocalists he says: “Working with multiple singers makes writing every track a unique experience, a new musical adventure. A voice can change the whole dynamic of a song, and it’s really freeing and feels limitless to write without being constrained by the vocal abilities or stylings of one person.”

To compensate for the fact that they would be touring with no singer, the band incorporate a huge visual element to the show. As Chris explains, “The fusion of sight and sound is the perfect marriage in terms of stimulation, and we wanted to put a lot of thought into making it an overall experience for our fans.”

Debut Album ‘Desensitized’
Released September 23rd on Minus Man Records


Photo by Davey Wilson