Get your free download of the splendid ‘Crate Of Gold’ by Alberta Cross. The track is taken from ‘Songs Of Patience’, their long awaited 2nd album due out on 3rd September.
Alberta Cross are Petter Ericson Stakee (vocals/guitar) and Terry Wolfers (bass), a Swede and a Londoner with Brooklyn as their home. They met in an East End pub seven years ago, when Wolfers saved a young and let’s say “over-confident” Ericson Stakee from some angered locals, they have since embarked on what Ericson Stakee calls “a long and wild road”.

Petter Ericson Stakee says:
“In the three years since the last album we relocated to Los Angeles, moved back to New York, returned to being a band with just two permanent members and have had at least five producers hands on the album.

I loved LA, but the combination of relocating and hitting the studio straight away made me spiral out of control. I reached a very dark place. I partied too hard, blew my newly-earned money and went home to Sweden.

Once I hit rock bottom and plummeted back to the planet, I knew what I had to do. I moved back to Brooklyn and reformed my home there. And that’s what Alberta Cross is, me and Terry, my cockney brother.
‘Songs Of Patience’ is one of the finest, most visceral rock albums of 2012.
Photo by Brantley Gutierrez